July 28, 2016
Feature photo: pprune.org Raffles Hotel as we all know, is a historic five star hotel in Singapore under the AccorHotels Group. Intrigued by its rich history and timeless olden day colonial architecture, Senica Photos decided to dig in to the history of this National Monument. We were amazed by the events this alluring building has witnessed over the century. Located at No. 1 Beach Road, the Raffles Hotel we knew was first erected as a private beach house belonging to Robert Scott in the 1830s. The beach house turned into the Emmerson Hotel in 1878 when Charles Emmerson leased the property. The Emmerson Hotel eventually closed in 1883 due to the sudden death of Charles Emmerson. According to the National Library Board, the hotel was reopened as Hotel Des Indes by W.F. Van Erp in 1884. It was however taken over by Raffles Institution to establish Raffles Boarding School all the way till the expiration of the lease in September 1887. In the same year, the Armenian Sarkies brothers, a family name that will be forever tied to Raffles Hotel, leased the property with the intention to transform it into a hotel that offered fine food and accommodation.